21st Northern Ireland Healthcare Awards Recipients Revealed

The Northern Ireland Healthcare Awards ceremony recently returned for its 22nd year – with the evening pulsating with more poignancy and importance than ever before.

Following the transition of last year’s event online in response to COVID-19 restrictions, the region’s healthcare professionals were once again able to come together in-person and be publicly recognised for their excellence throughout the last 18 months and beyond.

            Belfast’s Europa Hotel was the venue of choice for the 2021 ceremony, with esteemed journalist Sarah Travers taking the helm as host and commanding the 150-plus audience which encompassed a mix of the sector’s professionals, students, and key industry representatives, including Health Minister Robin Swann and Chief Pharmaceutical Officer Cathy Harrison.

            Over the course of the evening, the title-holders of the 10 competitive categories were announced, including Asthma / COPD Project of the Year and Community Pharmacy Practice of the Year.

Rounding off the proceedings was the announcement of the 2021 Special Recognition Award honouree – which, for the first time, was dedicated to Northern Ireland’s entire healthcare community in tribute to their collaborative efforts, commitment and resilience in the face of unprecedented COVID-19 pressures.

The Health Minister accepted the award on behalf of the sector and paid tribute to their contributions to patient care during this difficult time.

Throughout the evening, funds were also raised for this year’s nominated charity, Addiction NI.

All the winners will be featured in the forthcoming edition of Northern Ireland Healthcare Review, while the exclusive pictures can now be viewed online by visiting www.nihealthcareawards.info.

Pharmacy Student Leadership Award winner, Fatimah Khan, Ulster University, with Alima Batchelor, The Pharmacists’ Defence Association, and Cathy Harrison, Chief Pharmaceutical Officer

Managing Substance Dependency in the Community Award winner, Dr Siobhan Flanagan and the Healthcare in Prison Clinical Addiction Team (South Eastern Health & Social Care Trust), with Ken Sutherland, Ethypharm UK, and Kathy Goumas, Addiction Specialist Consultant (NI Health & Social Care Board)

Management of Psoriasis Award winner, The Dermatology Hub, Ward 25, Ulster Hospital, with Patrick Thompson, UCB Pharma, and Dr Conor McGrath, Consultant Dermatologist (Southern Health & Social Care Trust)

Innovative Developments in the Management of Inflammatory Bowel Disease Award winner, The IBD Nursing Team (Belfast Health & Social Care Trust), with Sophie Semple and Angela Lambe, Tillotts Pharma

Innovation in Rheumatology Service Award winner, Dr Annmarie McShane, Dr Aidan O’Neill and Dr Lynsey McKenna, Antrim Area Hospital, with Chris McCabe, UCB Pharma, and Dr Gary Meenagh, Consultant Rheumatologist (Northern Health & Social Care Trust)

Improvements in Cardiac Services for Chest Pain Management Award winner, Sr Kate Vernon Kelly and Dr Michael Connolly and Team (Southern Health & Social Care Trust), with Francis Lynch, A. Menarini Farmaceutica Internationale SRL, and Dr Ian Menown, Consultant Cardiologist (Southern Health & Social Care Trust)

Hospital Pharmacy Team of the Year Award winner, The Specialist Services Team, Antrim Area Hospital (Northern Health & Social Care Trust), with Paul Concannon Ethypharm UK, and Eimear McCusker, Head of Pharmacy and Medicines Management (Belfast Health & Social Care Trust)

Diabetes Project of the Year Award winner, The T1D Clinic (Southern Health & Social Care Trust), with Dr Sian-Lee Ewan, GP with a special interest in diabetes, and Ciara Cunningham, Diabetes Nurse Specialist (Southern Health & Social Care Trust)

Community Pharmacy Practice of the Year Award winner, The Timoney Pharmacy Team, Lambeg, with Nicola McGarvey, Kyron Media, and Eoghan O’Brien, Community Pharmacist (Bannside Pharmacy)

Asthma / COPD Project of the Year Award winner, The Optimising Respiratory Services in the Setting of COVID-19 Team (Western Health & Social Care Trust), with Dr Claire Butler, Consultant Respiratory Physician (Belfast Health & Social Care Trust)